Chandigarh, December 13, 2019

Syndicate Meeting


Vice-Chancellor Statement

I am pleased to inform that:

Prof. Jagat Bhushan, Principal, Dr. Harvansh Singh Judge Institute of
Dental Sciences & Hospital has been conferred the title of Fellow by
the Academy of Dentistry International in recognition of his worthy
contributions to the advancement of Dentistry worldwide.

2. Prof. Jaspal Kaur Kaang, Department of Guru Nanak Sikh Studies
has received the Global Education Award-2019 of Eminent personality in
Sikh Scholarship.

3. Professor Ronki Ram, Department of Political Science; Prof.
B.S.Ghuman, Fellow; Professor Emanual Nahar, DSW and Dr. Bhupinder
Singh, USOL have received Achiever Award from Govt. of Punjab on the
eve of Sri Guru Nanak Dev Ji Parkash Purab.

Department of Youth Welfare organized Twelve Zonal Youth and Heritage
Festivals and one Inter Zonal Youth and Heritage Festival successfully
during the months of September-November 2019.
It is a matter of great honor that about 100 students from Panjab
University Colleges participated in ‘Dera Baba Nanak Online Youth
Festival’organized by Punjab Government during the celebrations of
550th Parkash Purb of Guru Nanak Dev Ji. Panjab University students
secured 15 prizes in various items from Punjab Govt. All the students
were honored on November 11, 2019 at Dera Baba Nanak.
Chandigarh Sangeet Natak Akademi awarded all the achievers of the
Panjab University Youth and Heritage Festivals in Tagore Theatre on 26
and 27 November, 2019


Chandigarh, December 14, 2019
Senate Meeting

The Senate in its meeting today took over all the agenda items for
consideration. Dr. Mukesh Arora, Government College, Ludhiana and Prof. Rajat Sandhir,
Department of Biochemistry, PU have been unanimously elected as members of Board of
Finance for a term of one year w.e.f. 1st February 2020.
Following 5 fellows namely Sh. Harpreet Singh Dua, Associate Professor,
Gujranwala Guru Nanak Khalsa College, Ludhiana, Dr. Iqbal Singh Sandhu, Principal,
Panjab University Constituent College Sikhwala, Sri Muktsar Sahib, Punjab, Dr. K.K.
Sharma, Associate Professor, A.S. College, District Khanna, Ludhiana, Punjab, Dr.
Parveen Goyal, Assistant Professor, University Institute of Engineering & Technology,
Chandigarh, Ms. Surinder Kaur, Associate Professor, Gopi Chand Arya Mahila College,
Abohar, Punjab have been elected to Academic Council for the term 1st February 2020-
January 31, 2022.
The Senate approved the recommendations of the Board of Finance for Revised
Estimate 2019-20 of Rs. 564.52 crore and the Budget Estimates for the year 2020-21 of
Rs. 586.28 crore.
The Senate approved the promotion cases of the faculty members under Career
Advancement Scheme.
The Senate approved the promotions from Technical Officers-III (System Manager)
to Technical Officer-IV(System Administrator) and Technical Officers (Programmer) to
Technical Officer-II(Programmer-Sr. Scale).
The Senate deliberated at length on the issue of women security at PU Campus
keeping in view the recent molestation case at Botanical Garden. Various suggestions
regarding increasing the size of the periphery wall, better lighting provisions,
enhanced night patrolling, technical feasibility for CCTVs in that area, publicizing of
guidelines on sexual harassment, 24x7 helpline number dedicated to sexual harassment,
sensitization workshops and skill training to be organized for hostellers, faculty and
non-teaching, installation of alarm gadgets, strict check on entry gates etc. Prof.
Raj Kumar, PU VC informed the Senate that a committee has been constituted and its
meeting is scheduled for 17th December, 2019 where multi-pronged strategy shall be
adopted keeping in mind all the suggestions received.
Regarding issue related to Rules and Regulations of M.Phil/Ph.D Degree in
accordance with UGC minimum standard and procedure, the committee will look into the
suggestions received.
The Senate approved the proposal to start MBA (Capital Market) as a Self
Finance Course at University Institute of Applied Management Science (UIAMS) from the
Session 2020-21.
The Senate approved the recommendations of the committee for framing the
guidelines/rules of the award of PU Ph.D Scholarship/Fellowships.