CHANDIGARH,24.05.24-The 8th Workshop on Good Clinical Practice concluded successfully at the Department of Pharmacology, PGIMER, Chandigarh, under the stewardship of Professor Bikash Medhi (Organizing Chairman), spanning from the 20th to the 22nd of May 2024.
The highlights of the program were GCP Guidelines and NDCT Rules 2019, ICH-E6 draft guidelines, Roles and responsibilities of the Institutional Ethics Committee (IEC), Good Manufacturing Practices (GMP), Good Clinical Laboratory Practices (GCLP), Artificial intelligence in drug development. The program aims to cover PAN India, to Experience and learn about Good Clinical Practice (GCP) in Clinical Research. Emphasizing evidence-based practices, safety protocols, quality control measures, drug interactions, and regulatory compliance, the workshop drew participation from 36 delegates representing esteemed institutions across 8 states and 2 Union territories of India, convening in an offline mode.

The inauguration ceremony commenced with a cordial welcome address delivered by Professor Bikash Medhi, the Organizing Chairman. Distinguished luminaries including Professor YK Gupta (President, AIIMS Bhopal/Jammu), Prof. Subhash Varma (Former Director & Dean (A), PGIMER, Chandigarh), Prof. Nilima A. Kshirsagar (Emeritus Scientist) and Dr. Ajay Prakash (Organizing Secretary) graced the occasion and officially inaugurated the workshop.

The scientific sessions of the training program featured insightful lectures from eminent experts such as Dr. Satyajit Mohapatra (SRM, Chennai), Professor Bikash Medhi (PGIMER, Chandigarh), Prof. Pankaj Malhotra (PGIMER, Chandigarh), Dr. Roli Mathur (ICMR, Bangalore), Dr. Manish (Pfizer, Hyderabad), Prof. Naveen Sankhyan (PGIMER, Chandigarh), Dr. Chirag Trivedi (Sanofi, Mumbai), Dr. Rishi Jain (Wockhardt Ltd., Mumbai), Dr. Ganesh Kadhe (Abbott Pharmaceuticals, Mumbai), Mr. AK Pradhan (DDC, DCG(I) Office, New Delhi), Dr. Rajan Mittal (Dr. Reddy’s, Hyderabad), Dr. Vivek Ahuja (Sun Pharma, Gurugram), Dr Sujeet N. Charugulla (Dr. Reddy’s, Hyderabad), Prof. Joseph Mathew (PGIMER, Chandigarh), Prof. Usha Dutta (PGIMER, Chandigarh), Dr. Sucheta, THSTI, Dr. Nandini, Trivandrum, Dr. Vishnuvardhan Rao (Former Director CTRI, New Delhi), Dr. Chandrashekhar (Joint Drug Controller, CDSCO HQ), Prof. RM Pandey, (Professor & Head, AIIMS, New Delhi), Dr. Amey Mane (Sun Pharma, Mumbai), Dr. Sanjay Gandhi (GSK, Mumbai), Dr. N.K. Mehra (Emeritus Scientist, ICMR), Prof. S.K. Sinha (PGIMER, Chandigarh). Case Studies were discussed by Dr. Shreya, Dr Kumaravel, and Dr. Nivedita.

The Valedictory Function featured Prof. Dulal Panda (Director, NIPER) as the esteemed guest and Ms. Kalpana Jaswal (Sun Pharma) as a Guest of Honor. Professor Bikash Medhi, the Organizing Chairman, delivered the comprehensive workshop report, while Dr. Ajay Prakash collated feedback from the participants. The workshop concluded with a vote of thanks extended by Dr. Ajay Prakash, expressing gratitude to all contributors and participants for their invaluable contributions and active engagement throughout the event