Jalandhar14.03.23-: The School of Journalism, Film and Creative Arts at Lovely Professional University (LPU) organized its first event of 52 hours of non-stop international filmmaking challenge competition ‘Filmithon- 2023’. For this, more than 200 media schools, colleges & universities from across the globe participated enthusiastically with several short films.

The event was a unique platform for young filmmakers to showcase their talent and creativity. The challenge required participants to make short films within a stipulated time frame of 52 hours, with a theme given at the start of the competition. The event provided an excellent opportunity for participants to explore their storytelling abilities and hone their filmmaking skills under pressure.

The competition was a massive success, with a diverse range of short films submitted by participants, including documentaries, animations, and fiction. The quality of films submitted by participants was exceptional, showcasing their technical skills and storytelling abilities. The judges were highly impressed with the level of creativity displayed by the participants.

While encouraging the emerging student filmmakers, whose independent voices reflect the human condition with creativity and catharsis; LPU Chancellor Dr Ashok Kumar Mittal mentioned that “it was heartening to see so many young filmmakers come together and participate with such enthusiasm. We hope that this event will encourage more young filmmakers to explore their talents and take up filmmaking as a profession." He also awarded the best students under the respective category they worked for.

During the award ceremony, LPU’s Journalism student Manikanddan S is declared as the best cinematographer.

Especially present on this occasion were renowned journalist & filmmaker, national awardee Vinod Kapri; Content Head at Indian Language OTT Platform-STAGE, Parvesh Rajput; and, RJ Sameer from Red FM. Along with them, LPU Vice Chancellor Dr Preeti Bajaj, Pro Vice Chancellor Prof Dr Sanjay Modi and Dean & HoS Dr Mukesh Kumar also honoured the deserving students.