BATHINDA, AUGUST 12-The Giani Zail Singh School of Architecture & Planning, MRSPTU, Bathinda bid adieu to the 27th Batch of passing out students of B. Architecture, 2015 Batch and Dr. Jatinder Kaur by organising an online farewell party “Au Revoir” on Tuesday.

Jashanpreet Singh Sohal and Devika Ahuja were declared Mr. Outgoing and Miss Outgoing respectively in the farewell party.

The evening was organised by the student body of the Department, AART. The students of 2016 Batch used an online platform to organise the event which was attended by more than 120 students and 15 faculty/ staff members.

Veteran Prof. (Rtd.) Dr. Ranjit Kaur and former HoD and Registrar Dr. Jatinder Kaur were invited as a special guest for the farewell event.

The fourth year students of 2016 Batch with guidance of Dr. Bhupinder Pal Singh Dhot, Head of Department, faculty organising team of Ar. Meenu Chaudhary and Ar. Ripu Daman Singh jointly planned the online farewell keeping in view the pandemic of Covid 19. The student team was led by AART President Mr. Kamandeep Singh and Vice President Ms. Hrishika Panwar.

A special mention was made for Dr. Jatinder Kaur, Ex- Professor, HOD Architecture and former Registrar, MRSPTU who has been selected in the premier institute, School of Planning & Architecture, New Delhi. Students presented a specially created memories video, sang songs and Prof. Ripu Daman Singh recited a poem in her honour.

Dr. Jatinder Kaur, the special guest of the evening said that her personality and success is due to her long stint with the department which shaped her in the last 31 years, first as a student and then as a faculty member.

The evening started on a cheerful note of welcoming the final year students by the student body members of 4th year.

In his address, Dr. Dhot motivated the students to keep learning and never lose contact with their Alma Mater. He also informed the audience about the numerous achievements of the passing out batch.

Dr. Savina Bansal, Dean Academics, MRSPTU and Campus Director, in her address appreciated the Department for taking a lead in the organising of the farewell party.

MRSPTU, Registrar, Dr. Buta Singh Sidhu said that the students of Architecture have always been extremely creative in their endeavours.

While addressing MRSPTU, Vice Chancellor Prof. (Dr.) Mohan Paul Singh Ishar talked about the challenges that lie ahead in professional life.

Outstanding performances were rendered by Mr. Lovely Chilana who danced on Bangra beats, Ms. Jaspreet Kaur who sang a self created rap song, Ms. Sagarika Baruah, Mr. Manthan & Ms. Sondutta Chatterji who sang songs, Ms. Nishi who played violin and Ms. Jashanpreet Kaur who danced to Bhangra beats.

A comic strip of passing out students was created by the 2016 batch students as a befitting tribute. The event was anchored by students Hrishika Panwar and Kamandeep Singh, and the online programme was created and composed by Manpreet Singh, Bhinder Singh, Mohit, Vishesh Verma, Gurpreet, Biswajyoti, Manik Singla, Nancy, Diksha, Mehak and Nishu Rao.

On the occasion, Hasrat’s choice Awards of Excellence, constituted by Prof. Ripu Daman Singh and Prof. Jatinder Kaur in loving memory of their daughter, HASRAT were awarded to two outstanding girl students of outgoing batch, Ms. Devika Ahuja and Ms. Harleen Sehgal. The awards included a smart speaker device, a trophy and a certificate, which are being sent through post.