Delhi, 14th October 2019: On 12th October 2019, Prof. A.K. Chaturvedi, Director IIT Roorkee, announced the winners of IIT Roorkee Research Awards for 2017 and 2018. IIT Roorkee research awards include the prestigious Khosla National awards. The Khosla awards are now given in two categories: Engineering and Science/Humanities/Management. In each category, one award is given, and both the awards carry a cash prize of Rs. five lakh each. These awards have been in existence since the days of University of Roorkee.

IIT Roorkee Research Awards are open to all Indian Nationals and have the winners are from various prestigious institutes across the country. Brief information about IITR Research Awards is available at

IIT Roorkee Research Awardees 2018

Khosla National Award (Engineering) 2018

Prof. Neelesh B Mehta

Dept. of Electrical and Communication Engineering, IISc Bangalore

Webpage: -

Prof. Mehta has made fundamental contributions to the modeling, design and analysis of modern wireless communication systems, e.g., 3G and 4G cellular radio systems, cooperative relaying, cognitive radio, and opportunistic selection. Several of these are relevant to 5G cellular radio systems that are being standardized now. His work on redesigning energy-efficient algorithms for energy harvesting wireless sensor networks characterizes new trade-offs that arise in such networks compared to conventional wireless sensor networks. He is also a recipient of Shanti Swarup Bhatnagar Prize for engineering sciences in 2017.

Khosla National Award (Science/HSS/Management) 2018

Prof. Suvendra Nath Bhattacharyya

Head, Molecular Genetics Division, CSIR-Indian Institute of Chemical Biology, Kolkata


Dr. Bhattacharyya has made exceptional advances in understanding the mechanism of miRNA activity modulation in mammalian cancer and immune cells. A major part of his research is focused on pathogen mediated changes in miRNA activity in host cells. His contribution is enhancing our knowledge in understanding pathobiology of Leishmaniasis and beyond. Importantly Dr. Bhattacharyya's work on exosmal miRNAs from human hepatic cancer cell has a translatable aspect also. He was awarded with the Shanti Swarup Bhatnagar Prize in Biological Sciences in 2016.

Gopal Ranjan Technology Award 2018

Dr. Narayan VenkateshNayak

Principal Advisor, Gammon India Ltd

Dr. Narayan V Nayak has developed various innovative techniques and methods in Foundation Engineering. He has developed theories for the safe bearing capacity and settlement of stone column groups used extensively in practice. He introduced High Speed Jet Grouting in India and used it in a number of projects developing an Innovative Execution Method for Cave-ins in tunnels. Cement Bentonite Slurry was introduced in India by him. He developed the methodology and executed a number of projects to control seepage below earthen/masonry dams. He developed path-breaking techniques of well foundation resting on marine piles, which were installed from 35m to 20m depth below the water level. This was probably the first time such a technique was used anywhere in the world. He introduced the concept of removal of green concrete above the Pile Cut-off by traditional chipping method leading to the most durable, most sustainable and most cost-effective method which is now part of Indian Standards IS 2911 and IRC 78.

Virendra Nath MaltiMital Award 2018

Prof. P. Gopinath

Dept. of Biotechnology, IIT Roorkee


A technology patented by Prof. Gopinath’s group provides a hybrid multi-layered nano-fibrous scaffold and a four-dimensional dynamic cell culture apparatus. The pre-existing 3D scaffolds in the market do not address the dynamic culture conditions covered in this technology and thus do not represent the in-vivo conditions as closely as the 4D scaffold proposed in this invention. Furthermore, the scaffold is biocompatible and operates in non-contact mode and it is precisely controlled across all 3- dimensions. The scaffold serves as a realistic and relevant platform for studying the role of cytoskeletal proteins and focal adhesion proteins in various diseases in the fields of cardiology, dermatology, metabolism, gastroenterology, oncology and orthopaedics.

IIT Roorkee Research Awardees 2017

Khosla National Award 2017

Prof. Sirshendu De

Dept. of Chemical Engineering, IIT Kharagpur

Webpage: -

Prof. De has developed an ultra-low cost technology for arsenic removal from groundwater using laterite soil that is abundantly available in nature. He mimicked nature and developed an affordable technology that has tremendous societal impact. Prof. De has designed and developed domestic and community scale filters to generate arsenic free potable water. His work has immense potential in rural areas. The cost of treated water is 2 paise per litre. The salient features of the filter are: ultra low cost; WHO prescribed quality of the filtered water; long shelf life (5-7 years); safe disposal of filter media; no regeneration of the media in its life span; no need of electricity for domestic filters. The spent media satisfies the toxicology leaching protocol (TCLP) indicating no leaching of bound arsenic from it once its life will be over. This makes the disposal of the media extremely easy. Prof. De is now involved in deploying large-scale community filters in arsenic affected states of Jharkhand and West Bengal. The technology has been approved by the Arsenic Task Force of Govt. of West Bengal and Department of Science & Technology of Govt. of India. Prof. De is a recipient of Shanti Swarup Bhatnagar Prize for engineering sciences in 2011.

Virendra Nath MaltiMital Award 2017

Prof. Tarun Gupta

Dept. of Civil Engineering, IIT Kanpur

Webpage: -

A submicron aerosol sampler designed and developed by Prof. Tarun Gupta has been commercialized by Envirotech Instruments Pvt. Ltd. Delhi and is being marketed as PM1 sampler (model: APM 577). These samplers are likely to be approved by CPCB for large-scale implementation at various sampling stations. Prof. Gupta has also transferred a technology to BARC for retrofitting an existing high volume PM10 sampler into a high volume PM2.5 sampler with only minor operational changes and with very low additional cost.

“Khosla National Award” is given each year to an outstanding work in the Engineering in Science/HSS/Management categories. “A.S. Arya - IITR Disaster Prevention Award” is given for outstanding contribution in the area of Disaster Prevention/Mitigation. “Gopal Ranjan Technology Award” for his unmatchable contribution in ‘Creative Work’ in the fields of Soil Characteristics/ Foundation Engineering/Ground Improvement/Soil Structure Interaction/ Engine. Shamsher Prakash Technology Award is meant for an outstanding work in the field of Geotechnical and/or Geotechnical Earthquake Engineering. “Virendra Nath MaltiMital” is given to Innovative and Creative Work with patent in the field of Engineering in India. “Prof. A. S. Arya Young Earthquake Engineer Award” for his significant contribution for the research work in the field of Earthquake Engineering/Structural Dynamics/Soil Dynamics. Mahesh Varma Technology Innovation Award is given for his extraordinary contribution in in the field of innovation in Construction Technology and/or Construction Project Management/Management of Technology. S. R. Mehra Memorial Award is given to for outstanding research in Transportation Engg./Soil Mechanics.

Speaking on this occasion, Prof. Ajit K. Chaturvedi, Director, IIT Roorkee, said,”IIT Roorkee Research Awards recognize outstanding research and thus promote a culture of excellence in the country.”