CHANDIGARH-24.12.17-The Pre-Conference (2nd Pediatric Pathology International CME) ‘Hands on Workshop’ a venture of the PGIMER-AIPNA ( Association of Indian pathologists of North America)  will conclude its 4th session on 24th Dec 2017. Dr Nandita Kakkar, Prof, Dept of Histopathology, Organizing Secretary of this conference, took up the colossal task of training the pathology trainees and junior faculty of various medical colleges of North India.  This 10 hour workshop, gave a unique opportunity to the Post graduate students to see gross specimens along with glass slides of over 80 autopsy cases of malformed babies. Apart from this 80 surgical pathology cases, of which 40 were sent by the International and National faculty, were given to them to see under the microscope.

Dr Nandita Kakkar is also the course director of the post doctoral one year certified course in Pediatric Pathology at PGIMER. She says that Pathology can be learnt only under the microscope and since PGI has so much material, it becomes our duty to teach students from peripheral colleges. Over 200 post graduate students came from 15 medical colleges of Punjab, Haryana, Himachal, Jammu and Kashmir and Delhi. They have highly appreciated this venture, giving it 100% marks and want more such workshops in the future. A student from Amritsar sent a message saying ‘Wanted to thank you Mam’ for giving us the opportunity to look at such wonderful cases. Also want to appreciate your enthusiasm to teach students, your energy and the powerful aura you bring with yourself’.

The main conference (2nd Pediatric Pathology International CME) to be held from 1-3rd Feb 2018,  has a remarkable faculty with 10 world famous (from USA, UK) and 15 national pediatric pathologists.  Dr VV Joshi from Medical College Virginia, an alumni of PGIMER, known as the ‘Father of Pediatric Pathology ‘ in India, will deliver the key note address. Dr S Ranganathan from Childrens Hospital Pittsburgh and Dr Anita Gupta from Childrens Hospital Cincinnati are the AIPNA co-ordinators , who have worked hard to shape this conference.